2017 Bellaire Volleyball All-District Players

posted Nov 8, 2017, 1:40 PM by Bellaire Volleyball   [ updated Jun 15, 2019, 4:09 PM by David Hawes ]
The District 18-6A post-season honors were revealed yesterday and 13 players have been honored.  Even in the Hurricane Harvey shortened season, the Lady Cardinals were able to finish district undefeated  (7-0 matches) by sweeping their first 6 district opponents (3-0 sets) and dropping only a single set in the final district competition against Westside.  For the fourth consecutive year and for the 17th of the last 18 season, Coach Ap Clarke received Coach of The Year award. 

Team captain, senior Codi Fillmore was named District 18-6A Most Valuable Player for her leadership and performance for the dominate Lady Cardinals.  Fillmore recorded 129 kills, 31 Aces and 145 digs this season.  Two Cardinals received First Team All-District recognition. Outside Hitter Aryle Odomes, a senior, who had 128 kills and hit .175 on the season and sophomore, Emily Hawes.  Hawes started every match of the 2017 season at Libero; picking up 312 digs and leading the district with 67 Aces.  Three Cardinals made second team.  Senior Team Captain Annika Bohman led Bellaire in hitting (.331), blocks (51) and was among the district's top kill leaders.  Starting setter, Chancellor Deal, set nearly every ball for the Lady Cardinals in 2017; recording 635 assists.  For the  second consecutive season, Armyni Perales received second team honors after recording 151 kills this season.  Receiving Honorable Mention recognition was freshman Clarke Adams (DS), freshman Kennedi Cooper (OH), junior Lauren Donovan (RS), junior Sarah Dixon (OH), senior, captain, Izzabelle Long (DS), junior Maddie Ogden (MH), junior Mesi Willson.

Congratulations Lady Cardinals and Coach Clarke.