2015: The Very Best Volleyball Team...so far.

posted Nov 25, 2015, 9:36 PM by Bellaire Volleyball   [ updated Jul 30, 2016, 2:32 PM ]
The 2015 Lady Cardinal Volleyball team was the most successful in Bellaire High School history!  It's undeniable.  The 2015 team went as deep into the state playoffs as any team in Bellaire High school history, won one of the most competitive tournaments in Houston and finished in the top 20 of the largest and most competitive high school volleyball tournament in the country.

2015 Bellaire Volleyball Varsity

The 2015 Bellaire High team spent...
  • 12 weeks on the TGCA Top 20 Texas 6A teams, 10 weeks in the top 10.
  • 8 weeks at #2 in the Houston Chronicle/Vype Magazine Houston area volleyball rankings (14 weeks in the top 10)
  • 7 weeks in the top 5 of LoneStar Volleyball’s Texas Top 20
In District and Play-offs, the Lady Cardinals... 
  • matched the deepest playoff run in school history; reaching the regional quarter finals. 
  • swept every district opponent in three sets for the second connective season. 
  • doubled their district win streak to 32 matches and 96 sets without a loss. 
  • won their 15th District Championship over the last 16 years.
  • made their 26th consecutive play-off appearance.
  • won a bi-district Championship with a 3-0 sweep of Katy High School.
  • won the Area Championship with a 3-1 victory over Langham-Creek High School.

Pre-District Tournaments

For the first time in school history, a Bellaire team reached the Gold Bracket of the Adidas Texas Volleyball Invitational Pearland Tournament finishing in the top 20.

In another school first, the Lady Cardinals won the Spring Branch ISD Tournament Championship.  Maya Evans received All-Tournament Team honors, Megan Evans received Most Valuable Setter recognition and Sundara Chinn took home the Tournament MVP award. 

Bellaire High Coach reaches 500th Win

At the Spring Branch Tournament, Coach Clarke achieve her 500 win as Bellaire High’s head coach with a semi-final victory over the top ranked Fort Bend Austin.  2015 also marked the 15th time Coach Clarke was named Coach of The Year. 

 10 Bellaire High Volleyball Players received All-District Honors

Sundara Chinn, District 20-6A MVP
Jade Robinson, 1st Team
Maya Evans, 1st Team 
Megan Evan, 1st Team
Ella Hawes, 1st Team
Lauren Li, 1st Team
Mary Lenz, 2nd Team
Isabelle Long, 2nd Team
Travana Matthews, 2nd Team
McKenna Compton, Honorable Mention